Books of 2014

Another year, another shelf on the bookcase covered with some new favorites.

(image)

 

Wife After God by Unveiled Wife (blog) Jennifer Smith (blogger) – she has such a raw and intense story about marriage expectations being shattered.  She also has a new book releasing this spring!  A simple and worthwhile read for any wife and anyone planning to become a wife some day!

The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom – Classic must read.  Full of perspective and evidences of God’s grace and protection in the worst places in history.

Love the Least (A lot) by Michael Spielman – It’s like a documentary in book version.  Full of pro-life information, stats, and cultural references.

Meet Mrs. Smith: My Adventures with Six Kids, One Rockstar Husband, and a Heart to Fight Poverty by Anna Smith – Easy and fun read, I read this in the middle of nights on my Kindle while feeding newborn Olson

Washington’s Lady by Nancy Moser – I am a sucker for historical fiction! I loved reading about George Washington’s life, even though some was embellished, she went into great detail at the end identifying what was true, probably true, and embellished.  Highly recommend Nancy Moser’s books, especially this on!

Restoring the Joy in Your Journey: I Choose Joy! by  Candace R. Hansford, Ph.D. – I got this book after listening to this author speak at the Cincinnati homeschool convention last year.  Good book, GREAT topic.

Growing Up Duggar by Jana, Jill, Jessa, & Jinger Duggar – absolutely LOVED this book.  Soaked the entire thing up and promptly filed away much of the wisdom they shared in how they were raised as precious daughters of the King. So thankful for this family and their transparency

A Love that Multiplies by Jim Bob & Michelle Duggar – again, absolutely LOVED this Duggar book.  Full of so much parenting advice.  Can’t wait to read it again!

The Nesting Place by Myquillyn Smith a fun, easy, and inspiring decorating and DIY book

How to Control Your Emotions So They Don’t Control You: A Mom’s Guide to Overcoming  by Brooke McGlothlin – I should have written a synopsis as soon as I read this book because I don’t remember 😦

Unglued by Lysa TerKeurst – Learned so much about my emotions.  Reminded and challenged that I’m the one in charge of how I respond to them.

Interrupted by Jen Hatmaker – after reading 7 a couple times 2 years ago, Interrupted (written before 7) was kind of disappointing 😦  Not to mention that some of her authors that were inspiring to her are controversial in their theology…helped me to begin a study on false teachers and false prophets.

Bridge to Haven – Francine Rivers – We LOVE Francine Rivers around here.  But man was I disappointed with the sexually explicit and suggestive scenes in this novel.  It saddens me that she and the publisher felt it necessary to include to make this story ‘whole’.

Children: Burden or Blessing by Max Heine – 30 year old book about our cultures view towards family and children.  The history is still relevant today.  An amazing source of statistics and facts as well as insight into what scripture says about family and our role in that as God designed us.

The Best Yes by Lysa TerKeurst – Great read.  Highly recommend!

And of course, since I had a baby again last  year, parts of Babywise!

This year, I’m going to add an additional category of things I read and name the blogs and websites I spend the most time reading

The Matt Walsh Blog (he also writes for the Blaze)

The Better Mom

For the Family

What books or blogs do you recommend for me in 2015?! 

 

 

4 responses to “Books of 2014

  1. I’ve not read ‘The Hiding Place’. Adding it to my list. I was disappointed with F. Rivers’ book, too. 😦
    And I’m stealing your idea to keep track of blogs I read. What a great idea!

  2. Fun! Hadn’t heard of some of these!

What do you think?

