Back in the kitchen…

Yesterday my loving mother came over to help me clean my kitchen!

Now listen – I appreciate a ‘clean’ house – I obsessively pick up and put away dishes and toys – however, I don’t necessarily clean too often…

Like, I’ve dusted like 3 times in the last 5 1/2 years since we’ve lived here…and I try to clean my bathrooms regularly, but usually I notice they need cleaned when yellowing appears in the toilet bowl or bathtub…and I never vacuum (because that’s Joel’s job! Ha, he does it quite often though), and I LOATHE cleaning my gas stovetop and oven.  Mom knows this, so she brought her bag of tricks over to help me 🙂

While we bar-keeper’s-friended the grime out of everything, we COULD NOT get the grates on my range clean!  Of course, I looked on pinterest to find I had already pinned the easiest way to clean the ranges.  I shall try this out tonight, now that Mom dropped off some ammonia (have I mentioned she’s the best?!).  I used another pinterest trick to clean the microwave out, and finally, for the 1st time ever, successfully understood how to use the auto-clean on my oven and woke up to a clean oven! (After I swiftly wiped out the ash…).  What’s next to do after you have a clean kitchen?! COOK AND BAKE AGAIN!

After the holidays at the end of the year (filled with family time and family meals) , the hospital stay when Olson was born (where I eat for ‘free’), and our friends and family showering us with meals when we returned home – I HAVE NOT COOKED IN 2 MONTHS!

We are beyond blessed to have so much provided for us!  Yet….it all comes to an end eventually 🙂  While I do still have a few frozen meals left in the freezer, today marks the first day I have technically cooked since before Christmas!  I made our FAVORITE dish, taken from this blog: Spicy Smoked Sausage Mac and Cheese

I am not super-technical when it comes to recipes…I generally look at them once, remember the ingredients (for the most part) and then look in my cupboard and fridge and make it with what I have – adding in our favorite spices or extras of our favorite foods, and ALWAYS dumping in any vegetables I can find

So for our Spicy Smoked Mac and Cheese, I use: olive oil, smoked sausage, onion, minced garlic, 100% whole wheat pasta, canned pasta sauce, chicken broth, frozen spinach, yogurt (usually, today I had JUST dished out the last of it to the kids for lunch – so I substituted it with a package of cream cheese and some milk…because that’s the same, right?!), and shredded colby jack.

YUM – I cannot wait to eat it!

Have any recipe suggestions for me as I’m getting back into cooking?!

5 responses to “Back in the kitchen…

  1. i love any recipes from melskitchencafe.com – they are normally fairly simple with ingredients i have on hand. i’m not a creative or innovative cook at all, so i like having ideas to go off of. i don’t think i’ve ever had one of her recipes that wasn’t delish! a few of my favorites: sweet & spicy bbq pot roast, honey lime tilapia (just tired this one. ross doesn’t like fish, but he loved this!), chipotle chicken tacos, just to name a few. 🙂

  2. I found a new Super easy dessert. Put a quart of frozen peaches in a baking dish. Sprinkle a yellow cake mix on top. Take a stick of butter and slice it up and place them on top. Bake. Of course, I don’t remember the temp or time…I think it is 350 for 40 mins? I had it at my friend’s house the other day and it was SO good.

What do you think?

