Bookshelf 2013

Well…this year did NOT compare to the roll I was on last year with my reading! BUT, I did read about half of the books I wanted to this year…maybe I’ll get to those other ones in 2014…

Below is a list of what I read (to the best of my recollection) and highlighted/bolded are the ones I ABSOLUTELY recommend and why…

The Shack – William P. Young

She’s Gonna Blow – Julie Ann Barnhill

Sold – Patricia McCormick: get some perspective on what is happening in our world.  And no, I don’t mean our world here in America, or the Midwest, or even as ‘middle class’…I mean how sin is ravaging and raping this world in so many ways that we cannot sit idley by if we call ourselves followers of Christ.

Respectable Sins – Jerry Bridges: need a wake up call to how deep your pride is rooted and how far it infiltrates your life?!  Be prepared to be disgusted at yourself and repent.

Simple Living – Lorilee Lippincott

Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl Written by Herself – Harriet Ann Jacobs

Radical – David Platt (again)

And the Shofar Blew – Francine Rivers

31 Days to Great Sex – Sheila Wren Gregoire: This book changed our marriage this year during our Marriage Challenge month.  We have adopted several disciplines that continue to keep our sexual intimacy focused on God’s design and plan for husbands and wives in marriage.  You MUST read this book this year and commit to putting your marriage relationship #1 on your list of earthly priorities

Christian Atheist – Craig Groeshel: Loved it. Love him. Read it 🙂

Weird: Because Normal Isn’t Working – Craig Groeshel

Out of the Spin Cycle – Jen Hatmaker

Follow Me – David Platt: Convicting, thought-provoking, important to be challenged by these thoughts and sort through how God so plainly calls all of us so simply in scripture.  Don’t hide behind excuses.  Just do what He says.

Sparkly Green Earrings – Melanie Shenkle

What’s It Like to Be Married to Me – Linda Dillow: Another book that has challenged me as a wife and I would highly recommend to any woman looking for some accountability and challenge for her role in marriage.  It’s not about our husbands, it’s about Christ.  We must do what He has required of us in our marriage covenant no matter who or what we are married to.

The Steadfast Surrender – Nancy Moser

The book of John in The New Testament

Praying God’s Word Day by Day – Beth Moore: Helped me to become disciplined in my daily scripture reading

Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth – Ina May Gaskin

Pregnancy, Childbirth and the Newborn: The Complete Guide – Penny Simkin, Janet Whalley, and Ann Keppler

All I Have to Give: A Christmas Love Story – Melody Carlson

I’m so looking forward to reading some Beth Moore books I got for free on my Kindle and continuing the Little House on the Prarie series with Mylin – plus who knows what else!

What books have you read recently?  What would you recommend?!

6 responses to “Bookshelf 2013

  1. thanks for this list…some of your thoughts and descriptions really resonated with me and i think i have a few to add to my reading list. thanks!

    one that i’m really enjoying right now is bob goff’s “love does”…it’s basically short story’s from his life that are quirky and whimsical all with a theme that love doesn’t sit and wait, love acts, love does. it’s fun, inspiring, at times outrageous and a really easy read!

  2. My goal is to keep track of all of my books this year. I’ve never done it and am excited to look back and see what I’ve read at the end of the year!
    I’m reading Mary Poppins right now and am enjoying it. I’m going to start reading it to the kids b/c I think it will be an easy read-aloud.

  3. OH! Melanie Shankle, the author of Sparkly Green Earrings, has a new book coming out called The Antelope in the Living Room. It is about marriage—can’t wait to read it!

What do you think?

