Just pray the scriptures…

Have you ever just sat there, wanting to be close to God, needing to talk to Him, and yearning to hear from Him, yet not knowing what to say?!  I know I have.  This morning, in my Beth Moore Devotional, Praying God’s Word Day-by-Day, I read this:

“When we pray the Scripture, we transfer the burden to God’s Word rather than our ability to pray correctly or adequately.”

“Lord God, Your Holy Spirit helps me in my weakness  I do not know what I ought to pray for, but the Spirit Himself intercedes for me with groans that words cannot express.  And He who searches my heart knows the mind of the Spirit, because Your Spirit intercedes for me in accordance with Your will (Romans 8:26-27).

Help me, then, Lord, not to be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present my requests to You.  And Your peace, which transcends all understanding, will guard my heart and my mind in Christ Jesus (Phillipians 4:6-7).”

Thank you, God, for making it so simple for us.  Help me get rid of my own way of complicating my relationship with you.  Thank you for grace and second/third/fiftieth chances.

 

2 responses to “Just pray the scriptures…

  1. I can’t remember where I read this but it has always stuck with me and that is that when we pray scripture we are absolutely praying the will of God. So when I start to doubt I also remember 1 John 5:14-15 that says…..This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us.And if we know that he hears us–whatever we ask–we know that we have what we asked of him. So much peace in that.

  2. I read something similar in my devotional this morning. It said something, “Be content to be a simple sheep, listening for My voice and following Me.” How simple. I complicate things so easily.

    Thanks for sharing!

What do you think?

