One week in…

We’ve been doing the Food Challenge for 1 week

Here’s the breakdown:

Thursday February 28th I go to the store to pick up items for a parenting conference we’re hosting and I discover:

bottleFriends. This is both a blessing and a curse

We all know that Salted Caramel desserts and treats were the HIT of everyone’s winter festivities this year…and besides Salted Caramel Pretzel Bark that I took like a drug really really really enjoyed, International Delight’s Salted Caramel Mocha Creamer simply MADE my entire holiday season. I LOVE THIS STUFF!  And up until last Thursday, I thought it was SEASONAL! I haven’t been able to find it in 2013! Until February 28th: THE LAST DAY BEFORE MY FOOD CHALLENGE (which, sadly, DOESN’T include coffee or coffee creamer!)

So……….I totally bought 2 bottles and put them promptly into my freezer and you better believe I will be defrosting them come Easter and thoroughly enjoying way too much SWEETLY CREAMED coffee on April Fool’s Day 🙂

In other foodie news, Joel has been in Mexico for work all week 😦 and has struggled through trying to stick as close to our foods as possible!

A week in, here are the changes that we have made since Day 1:

Original foods:

Chicken, eggs, apples, 100% whole wheat bread, peanut butter, greens, onions, beans, rice, broccoli

With the additions of salt, pepper, and olive oil for cooking and seasoning

During our last supper (4 of us got together to gorge ourselves snack on our favorites until literally midnight on February 28th), we all compared lists and made loose ‘rules’ and gave suggestions and ended up changing some foods

Then, after a week of this I realized I wasn’t eating a few items, so swapped them out w/others I would eat regularly!

So NOW my list is:

Chicken, eggs, apples, 100% whole wheat bread, peanut butter, greens, mozzerella cheese, bananas, tomatoes, berries

And we have broadened seasoning to ALL seasonings (hence dropping onion as food because I can use garlic anytime!), and included milk as a freebie so we are still getting our calcium and Vitamin D that is so important this time of year!

This list is versatile and lovely!

My starvation dramatics cravings went away after 3 days and I’ve gotten into a groove of normal eating patterns again (goodbye days of 3 string cheeses and possible multiple grilled cheese sandwiches chased with too many bananas…)

But I am SO looking forward to not being consumed with what to prepare, how to prepare it, and how to get it not to taste exactly like what I just ate for lunch…once April arrives

Spiritually, God is examining my emotions and my reasons for eating emotionally…

Why do I cover up stillness w/food and over-indulgence?

Why can’t I sit and just be?!

What am I ‘feeding’ w/cookies and desserts and sweets that I should be feeding w/the Word?

God revealed to Jenna this scripture that she passed on to us and we are all encouraging each other to memorize this month:

“So get yourselves ready, prepare your minds to act, control yourselves, and look forward in hope as you focus on the grace that comes when Jesus the Anointed returns and is completely revealed to you.  Be like obedient children as you put aside the desires you used to pursue when you didn’t know better.  Since the One who called you is holy, be holdy in all you do.  For the Scripture says, ” You are to be holy, for I am holy.”  If you call on the Father who judges everyone without partiality according to their actions, then you should live in reverence and awe while you live out the days of your exile.”

1 Peter 1:13-17 (The Voice)

NIV translation of these verses found HERE

What words are you hiding away in your heart right now?!

What do you think?

