AWARENESS: Guest blog and giveaway!

During this first month (of many) of different challenges and fasting, we have been meditating over some ministries and organizations to bring awareness.

One of my favorite new friends, Sarah (check her out at Flying Kites!), has so kindly offered to guest post on the blog today AND provide a giveaway!  Check the end of this post for entry information.

Prepare your hearts for this, readers.

Sex Trafficking.

Get this:

-Did you know Sex trafficking commonly involves deception, kidnapping, rape, and sexual enslavement of girls (as young as 6!) and women? (Link)

Did you know it’s one of the fastest growing crimes in the world? (Link)

-Did you know nearly 2 million children around the globe are currently forced into sexual exploitation? (Link)

Did you know 300,000 children in the U.S. alone are at risk every year for commercial sexual exploitation? (Link)

-Do you want to stop reading this?!?!

Yeah, I hear ya. It sure sounds less messy to pour myself a cup of coffee, put my feet up and flip through a magazine.

So, do I brush this great injustice under the rug and pretend it doesn’t exist? Do I wallow in guilt because there’s nothing little-ol-me can do about it? Both these responses are unhealthy and go against what the Bible teaches about the oppressed.

So WHAT can be done?

Did you know one of the best things you can do to help end Sex Trafficking is EDUCATE YOURSELF?

Simple, huh?

Little-ol-me started educating herself and you know what happened? My heart started to ache and I started to pray. Prayer changes things.

I’m not an expert on this subject, but I wanted to introduce an amazing, Christ-centered ministry called Tiny Hands International

Tiny Hands is doing unbelievable things in Jesus’ name – focusing much of their efforts on intercepting sex traffickers in Nepal who are trying to smuggle vulnerable girls into India. To date, over 5,000 girls have been rescued!!

Go ahead and check out their website, but here are just a few things I love….

*Want to “spiritually adopt” a girl? Check out “One Girl Prayer Initiative” . A $10 donation will get you a hand-crafted bracelet and a prayer card with the name of a girl who’s been intercepted. I wear my bracelet almost 24/7 and it is a great reminder to pray for Tiny Hands.

*How about a cute purse (plus more!)? Check out the “Freedom Products” where 100% of proceeds go toward Tiny Hands’ Children’s Homes, Anti-Trafficking Efforts & Women Empowerment Ministries.

*Read Sold by Patricia McCormick. Although Tiny Hands doesn’t actually sell this book, I first heard about it through them. Sold is a novel based on true life stories of exploited children in Nepal. It is written from the viewpoint of 13-year-old Lakshimi. It’s explicit, yet tactful and most of all: it educates. I always encourage people to read it and pass it on. Think how many more prayers could be offered on behalf of God’s vulnerable children?

*Watch Meena’s Story. This will take that HUGE number of sex slaves and make it so incredibly REAL. It’s worth the 5 minutes it takes to watch. (video)

*Why not become and advocate for Tiny Hands? (link) It’s basically what I’m doing right now – spreading the word about how to help!

Thanks for taking the time to read this post and to Rachel for promoting such Christ-centered ministries!

God Bless you all! Sarah

SO powerful.  Let’s not hide behind our sinful excuses of why we CAN’T do something, and start making advocacy and global-care our priority! (for more information, see Matthew 28:18-20 and all of Acts)

Sarah is graciously donated 2 copies of Sold for a giveaway!

3 ways to enter:
1. Comment on this blog about what you are going to do to be an advocate for women and children stuck in sex trafficking

2. Begin following this blog to stay in our fellowship of challenge and radical living and comment that you have done this

3. Post a link to this blog post on facebook and leave a comment on here that you did it

Sarah and I will come up with an exciting way to choose the winners by TUESDAY and they will be announced on WEDNESDAY MARCH 6TH!

3 responses to “AWARENESS: Guest blog and giveaway!

  1. So, you don’t know me…and this is my second time to your blog. I feel odd for you to count me towards the giveaway as Sarah is my cousin…though I still have yet to read Sold. Sarah highly recommended that I read your blog as I am also wrapping up my first month of the 7 challenge. Though my first month was the food challenge. Hey, it is the shortest month of the year…and I love food! You have no idea how excited I am that today is my last day…though I have learned a lot about gratefulness over the small things…like I found myself thanking God for my hot water one day, which I was drinking as a replacement for coffee! I’m looking forward to starting the clothing challenge tomorrow! I’m also looking forward to following your blog as it seems we have some things in common right now. Thanks.
    -Christa

  2. My heart is breaking! How can you not be prayerful and sorrowful after such glaringly evil statistics? What unimaginable evil to such innocent, helpless lives??

    I was just perusing the Tiny Hands website and found this tidbit: “Nepal is one of the world’s poorest countries, where about 50% of the population lives on less than $1.25 daily.”

    My snack for the day cost more than that. My SNACK. And in all likely hood, so did my coffee…..

    Yet $10.00 will aid in border stations, safe homes and a myriad of other things to keep children from Sex Trafficking! $10.00 isn’t even a sacrifice to most of us.

    My family will definitely be prayerful….. for the children, the ministries, and for God to be glorified through such evil. And prayerful on where to be giving of our financial resources!

    Thank you, Sarah and Rachel, for enlightening us and reminding us of responsibilities we have as followers of Christ.

  3. great post! three cheers to rachel and sarah!…this posts leaves me thinking of one of my favorite Sara Groves songs, “it’s too heavy to carry, but impossible to leave.”

    my husband and i both have tiny hands bracelets and pray for our two girls often. it has created SO much conversation when people ask about it when they notice we both have one. i completely agree with sarah…educate yourself and SHARE it with anyone that will listen…

    this year, we replaced the halftime super bowl show with some prayer time for girls/women that are trafficked and also this amazing video…(www.iamsecond.com/seconds/annie-lobert/). we prayed specifically for the “johns” and trafficked women at the superbowl. it created amazing conversation with our guests that we were late to the second half!

    i’ll share this on facebook b/c i think this is so important…and b/c i’m pretty proud of my big sis. 😉

What do you think?

