The halfway point…

Our halfway point of the clothes challenge was Thursday!

By now we have 16 days past us and 12 to go 🙂 (Hello, shortest month of the year!)

I wanted to compile some thoughts from the 4 other gals doing this challenge with me to recap how God is moving in us and using this to challenge us!

Some candid comments:

Day 2: I said “I hate this” (very classy of me, huh?!) and after many emails and jokes and encouragement, Lydia blessed us with this perspective:  Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes. Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight. For this is the way the holy women of the past who put their hope in God used to adorn themselves…       1 Peter 3:3-5

Day 5: From Lilli on the topic of having jewelry/accessories when speaking in front of a Mom’s group: “I don’t think anyone noticed. Good lesson for me. We think people care more than they do”

Day 11:

Lessons from Lydia:

1) I really don’t need as many clothes as I think are necessary…I’m actually getting along pretty easily with only 10 items!
2) I’m saving time and energy b/c I don’t have to think about what to wear.
3) People really don’t care about what i’m wearing
4) It’s OK to leave the house in sweats…dirty sweats…and stained up clothes.  Most people don’t even look twice 🙂
Lessons from Rachel M included:
1. The struggle to keep everything clean!
2. Overall boredom with what we chose (HERE, HERE!)
3. Really pay attention to the ‘rules’ because socks DON’T count……oh poor Rachel…one pair of socks for the first 7 days and sacrificing them some days so they’d be clean for others… 🙂
Lessons from Stephanie:
1. No one really cares what I have on – no one.  No one has said a word.
2. I can get by with a lot less – however, today is maybe not such a good day to ask because I’m just kind of annoyed – I know – it’s not a godly characteristic, but I just wanted to put on something different today and more layers.  I’m freezing!
3.  This challenge does make me thankful (although based on the previous paragraph one might not hear that.).  I am thankful to live where we live, to be able to provide for our family, but by no means does this give me permission to be greedy and frivolous.  I’m just realizing that I take it for granted that I can just go to my closet and yank another shirt off a hanger and throw it on b/c I get food on it or someone wipes grimy hands on me or I lift the beaters out of a bowl to soon.  I’m thankful for the laundry we are able to do so easily and quickly!  Thank you God for all the provisions you give me & my family – help me not to take them for granted and to share with those who have so much less than me.
Since then:
I had sent out an email a few days prior to Valentine’s Day suggesting we get a ‘pass’ for a date night with our hubby…and after hearding everyone’s response’s, especially Lilli’s (Lilli, you are so superior to us…so much holier… 🙂  ), I decided that maybe I wouldn’t take the pass…or maybe I’d wear some accessories (my poor neck and ears have been BARE from scarves and earrings!) to spice up my very dull nice outfit (black shirt and jeans).
Anyways…all of this to say – is that what started out as somewhat inconvenient has turned out NOT to be difficult for me at all.  Many of us had previously cleaned out our closets and I bet, come March 1st when we re-enter those closets and stand in open-mouthed wonder at what lies in front of our eyes, we’ll be cleaning them out again 🙂
I pray that I will be moved to not spend my money so freely on clothes and shoes and accessories in the future, but to really meditate on what I NEED vs. what I WANT…and to take those desires to God.
It’s all about seeking out what is in our hearts…and the reasoning behind our motives…

And for those of you who are curious – March will bring us to the food challenge!

More on that, soon 🙂
3 responses to “The halfway point…

  1. Enjoyed this 🙂

  2. Today I woke up feeling the urge to purge more out of our closets which is where I’m headed next. For the last 2 weeks I’ve been putting together outfits at the beginning of the week and hanging them in a row for each day. It’s been a HUGE timesaver to do this. It takes me literally 5-7 min to choose 6-7 outfits for the week and then I wake up not having to think about what I’m going to wear, I simply get dressed. What I’ve noticed is that I wear my favorites and leave my less than favorites always hanging in the closet. Not sure why I keep them when someone else could enjoy them more or I think maybe later I’ll like it better. I have LOVED purging more and more in my home. So far have cleared off nearly everything from my kitchen counters except the things I truly use all day long and did something very similar in one of my bathrooms. I love walking into a freshly organized, clutter free environment whether its my kitchen or bathroom. Last weekend we took 3 trash bags of junk from the boys’ toy closet that always had toys spilling out and the door never shut. 2 going to Goodwill and 1 in the trash. I love opening the toy closet now too. Looking forward to working my way through the entire house which can seem overwhelming at times!

  3. Thank you for this! So good to read about what others’ experiences are like! I’ve pretty much LOVED the clothes fast and totally agree…I will be pretty reluctant to put everything back in my closet after February. It really has been freeing and wonderful in many ways.

What do you think?

