Come on…

I know how many of you read this (not that there are many…but I do see the stats!)

Yet, most of the time, the only ones that comment are the ladies in my life that already know the stories I post about, or I already know their opinion on it! (Not always…but thank you Brittany, Leslie, and Kim – my biggest fans!)

So…….today I’m going to put out a challenge:

I want you to comment!

My challenge is because I’m not writing this blog for only myself (yes, I love that I have an online journal of my life for memory’s sake) but that I LOVE learning – and I want to learn from you!

When I write about our struggles, or questions, or about what we are changing in our life – I’m hoping that you will be able to give some feedback on how you simplify; strive to be more like Christ; train your kids hearts; what you’re baking in the kitchen; what you are studying, etc.

SO…today I am going to have 5 questions that I want each of you to respond with your own answers!

1. How are you celebrating Christmas this year in a new way? We aren’t getting gifts for each other (Joel & I) and we are doing the Christmas Adventure Box

2. What is your FAVORITE holiday recipe? My mom’s fudge 🙂

3. What is your favorite Christmas song? Carol of the Bells: Trans-Siberian Orchaestra or the vocal version by Point of Grace (paired w/another favorite ‘What Child is This?)

4. What was your favorite Christmas present ever? Oreo – a black & white kitten when I was like 4

5. What has been your favorite moment of 2012? Sullivan Joel’s arrival into our family 🙂

7 responses to “Come on…

  1. 1. Dave and I aren’t doing formal presents to each other (hello, new water heater), but we’re each spending $5 to fill the other’s stocking.
    2. Mom’s lard cookies!
    3. Anything by Manheim Steamroller. Michael Buble.
    4. I always looooved stuffed animals! And the beanbags my grandparents gave us one year.
    5. Erie marathon and weekend with family.

  2. 1. Klint and I aren’t doing any gifts for each other, but instead going out on a date (overdue, overdue, overdue!).
    2. My Grandma’s caramels & Klint’s mom’s frosted Christmas Sugar Cookies
    3. I love any Christmas song by Dean Martin or Bing Crosby
    4. ooo…I have a bad memory. I remember when I was little, my parents got me this huge set of nice colored pencils (must have been over 50 colors) all in this nice case. I loved creating so that was exciting.
    5. Moving to a new-to-us house.

  3. Jessica Behning (parsons)

    I enjoy reading your blog Rachel. I would have to say that my favorite Christmas recipe is my mom’s/aunt’s cookie recipe for icing cookies. It was always fun to see who’s turned out the best 🙂 (Especially since they were the same recipes) Then us kids would get to cut the cookies out and decorate them. Now I can do that with my kids

  4. 1. New Tradition: Daily Advent devotional with Bailey and Spending Christmas at home, just Michael, Bailey and me. Something we hope to make a tradition :).
    2. Recipe: Homemade Eggnog! 🙂 LOVE
    3.Christmas song: Anything by Michael Buble and Go Tell it on the Mountain!
    4. My favorite gift: a tea set (that was later melted by some horrible revenge seeking child….. I can see it melting now…… and my happy memories with it 😦 ). Yes, you must read that with a voice full of bitterness. And tears. LOTS OF TEARS! 🙂
    5. Favorite moment of 2012: Completing our church search! 🙂

    • Brittany, not sure if you will ever read this but I’m glad you guys landed at Life. Our lives are blessed because of it! 🙂

  5. Hmm, these might be things you don’t know about me…we’ll see. 🙂
    1) This year I had GREAT intentions but you know, morning sickness has gotten the best of me and things have not happened like planned. However, I hope to play some catch up next week. Doing Adventure Box, Jotham’s Journey and this year we took a family day to Indy as one of our gifts to the boys. Making memories is a priority for us so we try to attach memories to gifts. We do have a few small surprises for the boys on Christmas day or whenever we choose to open them in the next week or so. The boys and Jeff also got to deliver gifts to a local ministry in Huntington for the family we sponsored. This is my absolute favorite thing to do each year.

    2) I don’t have a favorite holiday recipe. We like to try something new each year.

    3) I don’t really care for Christmas music. It’s the same every year and I love new variety so I’ll listen every now and then and get tired of it quickly. I tend to favor the newest songs on the radio that I haven’t grown up with.

    4) It’s a toss up between a new doll that had really long hair and new clothes to change in and out of, the cabbage patch clothes my mom made for me one year or the vanity I had been wanting forever and ever.

    5) Baby news!

  6. 1. We actually are giving gifts this year, as opposed to Christmases and birthdays past. He got some dress shirts for work (woo hoo, haha), I got a new lens and tripod for my camera.

    2. Ricotta cheese cookies or Pizelle cookies, although I have the recipe for neither.

    3. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen

    4. A cardboard grocery store I got when I was 4 or 5, it was HUGE and awesome. I played with it for hours.

    5. Getting to know our youngest, Adam Joseph! He was born the day after Christmas and has been such a blessing. He’s a silly kid and gets into everything, and I love it. 🙂

    Hope you have a Merry Christmas!!

What do you think?

